• 2021/08/11

    Best Paper Award for Lasse Thostrup and colleagues at SIGMOD/PODS'21

    The colleagues Lasse Thostrup, Jan Skrzypczak (Zuse Institue, Berlin), Matthias Jasny, Tobias Ziegler and Carsten Binnig won the Best Paper Award at SIGMOD'21 International Conference on Management of Data with their Paper “DFI: The Data Flow Interface for High-Speed Networks”. Congratulations!

  • 2021/07/19

    Best Paper Award at IEEE DCOSS 2021

    Matthias Hollick and Jakob Link won together with colleagues from TU Graz the Best Paper Award on IEEE DCOSS 2021 – International Conference on Distributed Computing in Sensor Systems with the paper: “Leveraging Cross-Technology Broadcast Communication to build Gateway-Free Smart Homes”!

  • 2021/07/15

    Female Student Travel Award 2021 Award Ceremony on Thursday, 15 July 2021 at 05:15 pm

    The seven award winners and the representatives of the research networks.

    The Female Student Travel Award could finally be given again after a year's break due to Corona.
    We are proud, that we were able to award 7 prizes on 15. July 2021! The award winners all distinguished themselves through outstanding achievements in their studies of electrical engineering and information technology or computer science.

    The SFB MAKI honours Hannah Keller and Helena Mehler. Congratulations!

    The organising research associations MAKI, CROSSING, GRK Privacy and Trust and emergenCITY have decided to give out the award in the form of prize money of 500-,€ each, due to the ongoing pandemic and the associated travel restrictions.

    Further information

  • 2021/07/08

    Female Student Travel Award 2021 Award Ceremony on Thursday, 15 July 2021 at 05:15 pm

    The collaborative research centers MAKI / CROSSING / GRK2050 / emergenCITY award 7 cash prizes to outstanding female students of electrical engineering and information technology and computer science.

    Zoom link:

    Further information

  • 2021/06/07

    Female Student Travel Award 2021

    Apply now!

    Deadline 20 June 2021.


  • 2021/03/19

    iEEE Award for Ruzena Bajcsy

    The eponym of our special lecture series “Ruzena Bajcsy Lectures on Communication” is the first woman to receive the “IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology”.

    IEEE Announcement: “The first woman to receive the IEEE Medal for Innovations in Healthcare Technology, sponsored by the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, Ruzena Bajcsy is being honored “for pioneering and sustained contributions to healthcare technology fundamental to computer vision, medical imaging, and computational anatomy.”

    The award will be given by IEEE at the virtual 2021 IEEE Vision, Innovation, and Challenges Summit (IEEE VIC Summit) and Honors Ceremony on 11-13 May 2021!”

  • 2021/01/19

    Dr.-Ing. Andrea Ortiz receives the Dr. Wilhelmy-VDE-Price 2020

    Dr.-Ing. Andrea Ortiz from the Department of Communication Technology has been awarded the Dr. Wilhelmy VDE Prize 2020 of the German Association for Electrical, Electronic & Information Technologies (VDE) for her dissertation “Optimisation and Learning Approaches for Energy Harvesting Wireless Communication Systems”. (VDE).

    In her work, she presents solutions for increasing the performance of wireless communication networks that use energy harvested from the environment with the help of the energy-harvesting-technology.

    With the Dr. Wilhelmy VDE Prize for Young Women Engineers, the Dr. Wilhelmy Foundation and the technology organisation VDE jointly honour outstanding dissertations in electrical engineering and information technology.

  • 2021/01/15

    ITG Preis für Sabrina Klos

    Die Dissertation von Dr. Sabrina Klos (geb. Müller), Fachgebiet Kommunikationstechnik, mit dem Titel “Context-Aware Decision Making in Wireless Networks: Optimization and Machine Learning Approaches” wurde von der Informationstechnischen Gesellschaft (ITG) im VDE mit dem Dissertationspreis der ITG 2020 für herausragende Dissertationen aus dem Bereich der Informationstechnik ausgezeichnet. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

    Die Preisverleihung der ITG Preisträger 2020 findet im Jahr 2021 statt.

  • 2020/11/27

    Der SFB MAKI wird für weitere 4 Jahre gefördert

    Unser SFB MAKI wird von der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) von 2021 bis 2024 mit rund 15 Millionen Euro gefördert. Damit können wir weitere 4 Jahre forschen, um das Internet der Zukunft schneller, flexibler, resilienter und zuverlässiger zu gestalten.

  • 2020/11/23

    „Best Paper in Track“ for Katharina Keller

    Katharina Keller, Fachbereich Wirtschaftsinformatik und Informationstechnologie, hat mit Ihrem Single Author Paper „Intelligent Parking Systems – The Smart Assistant Thinks Around the Corner“ auf der International Conference for Information Systems 2020 (ICIS2020) den „Best Paper in Track“ gewonnen. Herzlichen Glückwunsch!

    Die Konferenz gilt als die renommierteste Konferenz für Wirtschaftsinformatik weltweit und erreicht im VHB Ranking im Bereich der Wirtschaftsinformatik A-Grade.